Sassy Kraimspri- Pussy Magnet EP

(Lady Luck Records)

I woke up this morning with an idea. I would invent a genre called CLOUTROCK, which is where the music swaggers out of your speakers smoking a cigarette, acts all pissed off about the state of the world, spits chewing gum on your carpet, and then sets about punching your ears in for no particularly obvious reason. Then I remembered Sassy Kraimspri had already done it, and I got sad and tugged the blankets over my face and went back to sleep until it got dark.

But despite that, when I did finally ooze out of bed, it was with a smile on my face and a lump in my Pokémon underpants. And that’s because even though they stole the idea I had five hours ago, this EP is still a good bit of gear, guv. Also it’s fucking free off the internet, so you don’t even have to bother finding somewhere to steal it from.

And why should you take my word for it? Because it’s fucking correct, that’s why.

Here’s what you should notice about this band; even on record, they sound like they’re playing together for the last time ever. You’d think giving a shit about your music would be commonplace among the musical bands of the 21st century, but there’s a fucksight more evidence of that in these three songs than in an entire album by I have no idea what the fuck you people even listen to anymore, so just finish this sentence yourselves, thanks in advance.

Pussy Magnet smashes this EP off the tee and down the fairway – but using a turbo bulldozer, rather than a golf club. And when it lands, it starts doing a dance. It’s mainly a two-minute punky rattle, but it takes in a quick tour of a bunch of different ideas, and even has time to shift down a gear for a mid-eight I guess I am going to describe as ‘swangin’. I like it when short little songs like this find time for a massive dynamic shift, and actually pull it off. It’s well clever mates.

The swing persists into Oh My, which is a song that is stuffed with sexy ideas, a couple of which do not quite fire off. There’s a point where the tune pinches out, and then sort of gradually fades back in, and it really breaks the build of energy throughout the song. But since this is cloutrock, it lasts about ten seconds, and a blow to the head is never far away. You’ll have forgotten all about it by the time you get to the coda; it’s the logical extension of this tune’s build-up, lots of energetic shrieking and cacophonous, clattering instrument abuse.

Hit flops back over to a pop-punk place, and the best comparison I can think of is probably The Pixies, simply on the basis of that classic loud/quiet/loud dynamic shift. Nothing much new there, you’d say, and you’d be right; but it fucking well works here. Especially at the end. The reason for that will be explained below, in a paragraph that will form the conclusion to this review. Allow me to take this opportunity to say I hope you have enjoyed it.

What you get with Sassy Kraimspri is a heavy wall of music that I would describe as solid, confident, energetic, and yet somehow sparing time to think about what it’s doing. But the stand-out feature for me is still the lead vocals, which sound like PJ Harvey going through Ritalin withdrawal.

Free music, get.

Sassy Kraimspri will be playing at Twitrfest, at Eddie’s Rock Club, Birmingham on Saturday 12th February, along with some other reprobates.

Leave a Reply

